Is Moscato Vegan-Friendly Or Ruined By Animal Products?

Last Updated on August 1st, 2023

Reader Disclosure Disclosure: We may earn commissions for purchases made through links on our site. Learn more on our about us page.

Moscato is known as a sweet leveled wine created from Muscat grapes. The fizzy white wine is considered to be a cheap option for your next dinner party. However, unless you are a vegan, then you might have to search for an alternative.

Some winemakers utilize animal parts such as blood, chitin, fish oil, gelatin, and many others to filter and better color some wines. Unfortunately, this is what ultimately makes a lot of wines considered not vegan friendly. 

Can vegans have Moscato?

Yes and no, it greatly depends on two factors. First, if you’re consuming a Moscato that comes from a company that has not declared the beverage vegan friendly, organic, or anything of the sort. It’s probably not a valid fit for anyone pursuing a vegan lifestyle.

Second, there are a few different Moscato and other wines that come from companies that have indeed declared themselves vegan. What’s nice about most of these companies that are vegan often create all their wines to be vegan friendly. This makes it even easier when in search of vegan-friendly wine.

A wine glass on a wooden surface - Is Moscato Vegan-Friendly Or Contains Animal Products?

Why is Moscato not vegan?

Moscato’s are commonly filtered through fish bladders (isinglass) or have an added protein known as casein. Casein is a protein derived from milk and cheese that gives white wines a more pleasant clarity and removes oxidant taint. 

There are many wines out there that are not vegan friendly because of the use of these animal products. But, of course, unless it clearly states that it’s vegan on the bottle, it’s difficult to perceive what these wines are. Especially considering the fact that wines are not required to hold nutrition labels. 

What are vegan-friendly Moscato brands?

There are a plethora of Moscato on the market that are indeed vegan friendly. Listed below are a few different varieties of Moscato. Even though the list is small, there are many more brands of Moscato out there that are vegan-friendly.

  • Beviamo Sparkling Moscato
  • Jellybean Moscato
  • Valdivieso Moscato
  • Bartenura Moscato
  • Farero Moscato 

Is any brand currently working on a vegan-friendly Moscato?

There are indeed many brands who are not only working on vegan Moscato but have also already created it. Listed below are a few brands to look into when not only in search of a Moscato but also any other vegan wines.

  • Stella Rosa
  • Blossom Hill
  • Frey Vineyards
  • Lumps Wine Company 
  • Natura Wines

Final Thoughts on Moscato Being Vegan-Friendly

Vegans can have Moscato, but it’s important to keep in mind not all Moscato is vegan. It’s important to confirm with the companies that their product is vegan. Moscato is usually not vegan friendly due to the fact that winemakers use animal products to simply improve the clarity of the wines. 

There are many Moscato that are vegan friendly, including but are not limited to Farero Moscato, Valdivieso Moscato, Beviamo Moscato, and many more! Certain brands are not only working on vegan Moscato and other vegan wines but have also already made them!

These brands include but are not limited to brands like Stella Rosa and Frey Vineyards. Some of these brands’ wine creations are exclusively vegan friendly. The best way to confirm this is through their websites.